Dangerous Curves

Who says I can’t look fabulously fashionable? | April 29, 2010

Hillary’s View

Who made the rule that bigger girls can’t be fashionable? We have two choices: either the “mom” look or the muffin top. I have come to terms with the fact that I no longer fit what society calls the juniors department, but does that mean I am banished to the women’s department? I wouldn’t have a problem with this if the women’s sizing chart was wacked out. I am not super wide and short torsoed, thank you very much.

I’m just going to admit it: I’m a shopaholic. However, I find it hard to get anything fashionable in my size. I just want a clothing line that is classy and youthful and well made. It’s so frustrating to walk into a store, see an outfit they claim is a size 16 and come to find its two sizes too small. The amount of times I have walked out of a store, tearing up in frustration is too many to count. I would love to meet whoever created the sizing charts department stores and designers use and give them a piece of my mind.

In my opinion, we have this sizing chart madness to thank for the plethora of eating disorders and complexes that have destroyed the lives of many. I love my body, I adore my curves, but society has ruined the way beautiful women see themselves. Would it be so hard for designers to add a couple inches of fabric here and there and end this problem once and for all?

Taylor’s Take

Well ladies, it’s time to discuss what all us curvy girls complain about: a lack of clothing choices. Every time I enter a store, I head for clothes in my size, trying to find something cute that will become a wardrobe staple, but alas, everything I try on ends up looking painted on or is nonexistent. This is especially a problem in my adopted home of Athens. With an already limited supply of clothing options, I sometimes have trouble shopping on Court Street. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve found some great stuff uptown, but every time I walk into a clothing store, I feel like I’m walking into some club where the rule is that your waist must be this many inches to enter.

For someone above a size 12, there is no middle ground in what you wear. You’re eternally banished to the land of high waisted, elastic banded jeans that the weird aunt wore in the 80’s. I mean, one could argue that there’s Torrid and Lane Bryant, but their fashion senses are at opposite ends of the spectrum. Torrid appeals to the young, glitter-loving generation while Lane Bryant caters to older women. Come on Charlotte Russe, American Eagle, and Abercrombie, you’re totally losing a gold mine market by refusing to carry clothes in sizes above a zero. Please think about the girls outside of the realm of what is considered to be a ‘normal’ size. We have clothing needs too.

Consensus

Obviously, writing this would be repetitive. We just want a size chart that includes all shapes and body types. Is that really too much to ask?

Don’t forget! Thread Magazine launches today! Visit outhreadmag.com and check out the first issue. See you all at the launch party tonight 🙂

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Welcome to Dangerous Curves, Thread Magazine's fashion blog for the curvaceous woman.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

